Franklin County Sheriff

About e-SORN

Electronic Sex Offender Registration and Notification System

The Electronic Sex Offender Registration and Notification System (e-SORN) was developed in response to the 1994 passage of Megan's Law. Following the passage of Megan's Law, The Jacob Wetterling Act and the Federal Crime Act were passed. These legal additions to existing law require all states to pass a sex offender registration and notification law. To date, all 50 states have a sex offender registration law.

The passage of Senate Bill 5 on July 31, 2003, brought new guidelines for classifying sexual offenders and strengthened the current e-SORN Laws in Ohio. Namely, any person convicted of certain sex offense violations of the Ohio Revised Code or similar laws of another state may be determined by the court to be required to register as a sex offender.

Classifications under the Tier system are based solely on the specific crime the offender was convicted of. Now, sex offenders are classified as: Tier I Offenders, Tier II Offenders, and Tier III Offenders.

From January 1997, all convicted sex offenders have been, and continue to be, subject to the registration requirements of the law.

TIER I Offender

A TIER I offender is subject to the registration/verification requirements annually for a period of 15 years following their initial registration. These offenders are not subject to neighborhood / community notification. The Sheriff for a maximum of $25.00 per year may collect a $25.00 fee per registration.

TIER II Offender

A TIER II offender is subject to registration/verification requirements every 180 days (six months) for a period of 25 years following their initial registration. These offenders are not subject to neighborhood / community notification. The Sheriff for a maximum of $50.00 per year may collect a $25.00 fee per registration.

TIER III Offender

Offenders designated as a TIER III Offender are subject to registration/verification requirements every 90 days for life. TIER III offenders are subject to the neighbor / community notification provision, which includes all residents within a 1,000 feet radius of where the offender is residing. The Sheriff for a maximum of $100.00 per year may collect a $25.00 fee per registration.

TIER III Juvenile Offenders are now eligible to be placed on the public web site only if the Juvenile Court where the offender was classified orders that the juvenile be considered "Public Qualified". In addition, the Court must also determine if "Community Notification" is to be made on TIER III Juvenile Offenders.

Public mailings will occur with Sexual Offenders who are classified as TIER III. Public mailings are sent out in a radius of 1250 ft. from the address of the listed offender, unless the offender has a court ordered "STAY" of notification.

The difference between a child and a youth is their age.

General Offender Information

In addition to the above all offenders have to register anytime they have a change in their information, such as; change their address, employment, education schedule, vehicle(s) or telephone number(s) volunteer work, internet access information: emails, web sites and social sites.

There are no restrictions on their employment; exception would be if the offender is on parole or probation and said conditions are set.

No offender can live within 1000 feet (1/5 mile) of a school or daycare center - this is determined when the offender committed their crime. If they were convicted of their crime prior to the law taking effect - they are exempt.

Crime(s) committed prior to July 31, 2003 would be EXEMPT from the SCHOOL STATUTE.

Crime(s) committed prior to July 1, 2007 would be EXEMPT from the DAY CARE/PRESCHOOL STATUTE.

Offender Requirements

  1. All registered sex offenders must report at the scheduled intervals based on their classifications. In addition, they must report any change in address within three days to the Sheriff of the county in which they reside.
  2. All registered sex offenders must report to the county Sheriff immediately upon entering the county to attend school.
  3. All registered sex offenders must register with the county Sheriff where the offender has been employed in the county for more than 14 days or for a total of 30 days or more in a calendar year, regardless of where the offender resides.
  4. All registered sex offenders must report all vehicles registered to them to the county Sheriff.
  5. All registered sex offenders must report to the county Sheriff all internet or email addresses to which they have access.
  6. All registered sex offenders must report to the county Sheriff any location where they serve as a volunteer.

For specific information on sex offender registration, refer to the Ohio Revised Code, section 2950.

OHIO OFFENSE TIERS: TIER I

2907.07
Importuning

2907.04
Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a Minor, non-consensual and offender less than 4 years older than victim, not previously convicted of 2907.02, 2907.03, or 2907.04, or former 2907.12 (FSP)**

2907.08
Voyeurism.

2907.06
Sexual Imposition

2907.05 (A)(1)-(3),(5)
Gross Sexual Imposition

2907.323 (A)(3)
Illegal Use of a Minor in Nudity-oriented Material or performance

2905.05 (B)
Child Enticement with sexual motivation {new under SB 10}

2907.32
Pandering Obscenity

2903.211 (A)(3)


Menacing by Stalking with sexual motivation {new under SB 10}

2905.03 (B)
Unlawful Restraint with sexual motivation {new under SB 10}. This includes an attempt, complicity or conspiracy to commit any of these offenses. Child-victim offenders not in Tier II or Tier III.

OHIO OFFENSE TIERS: TIER II

2907.21
Compelling Prostitution

2907.321


Pandering Obscenity Involving a Minor

2907.322
Pandering Sexual Oriented Material Involving a Minor

2907.323 (A)(1) and (2)
Illegal Use of a Minor in Nudity-oriented Material or Performance

2907.04
When offender is at least 4 years older; or when the offender is less than 4 years older and has prior conviction for 2907.02, 2907.03, 2907.04, or former 2907.12 (FSP)

2907.05 (A)(4)
Gross Sexual Imposition victim under 13

2919.22 (B)(5)
Child Endangering

2905.01 (A)(1)-(3), (5)
Kidnapping with sexual Motivation

2905.01 (A)(4)
Kidnapping victim over 18

2905.02 (B)
Abduction with sexual motivation {new under SB 10}. Any sexual offense that occurs after the offender has been classified as a Tier I offender. This includes an attempt, complicity or conspiracy to commit any of these offenses. Pre-AWA Habitual offenders, unless re-classified after hearing under ORC 2950.031 or 2950.032.

OHIO OFFENSE TIERS: TIER III

2907.02
Rape

2907.03
Sexual Battery

2903.01
Aggravated Murder with sexual motivation

2903.02
Murder with sexual motivation

2904.04 (A)
Unlawful Death or termination of pregnancy as a result of committing or attempting to commit a felony with sexual motivation

2905.01 (A)(4)
Kidnapping of minor to engage in sexual activity

2905.01 (B)
Kidnapping of minor, not by parent

2907.05 (B)
{New section of GSI}

2903.11
Felonious Assault with sexual motivation. Pre-AWA predators unless re-classified after hearing under ORC 2950.031 or 2950.032. Any sexual offense that occurs after the offender is classified as a Tier II or Tier III offender. This includes an attempt, complicity or conspiracy to commit any of these offenses.

*Any law from another jurisdiction that is comparable to these offenses shall fall within that same tier.
**This offense should be removed in the future.

Stranger Danger Techniques

We, as law enforcement professionals, STRONGLY, encourage citizens to practice good "Stranger Danger" techniques:

Additional Information

You can read about sexual offenses
http://codes.ohio.gov

To monitor an offender's status while he/she is incarcerated
http://www.drc.state.oh.us/OffenderSearch/Search.aspx

Ohio's Attorney General's e-SORNÂ page
http://www.esorn.ag.state.oh.us/Secured/p21_2.aspx

National Sex Offender Web Site
http://www.nsopw.gov