Skip to main content


The Franklin County Sheriff’s SWAT Unit operates under the authority of the Franklin County Sheriff and is under the direction of the Chief Deputy of the Support Services Division. The Sheriff has made this unit available to all jurisdictions within Franklin County and the State of Ohio under Homeland Security, in times of need. The SWAT unit is comprised of the following members: 1 lieutenant, 4 sergeants, 16 deputies, 1 medical team member and a part-time secretary. The Sheriff's Emergency Response Team is attached to SWAT and consists of 8 deputies whose responsibilities include driving and maintaining all vehicles.

The SWAT Unit averages over one hundred call outs per year. These situations have included: Hostage rescue, Barricaded individuals with deadly weapons, Drug raids, High Risk Arrest Warrants, Warrant sweeps, serving Probate Orders and protection of dignitaries.

The SWAT Unit conducts twenty hours of in-service training each month preparing unit members to operate as a team in various scenarios that they have encountered or potentially may encounter. These training days are also used to maintain their mandated high skill level in their use of specialized weapons and equipment.

Phone Number: (614) 525-7928
Fax: (614) 525-2045

Lt. Mike Raven

For emergencies contact (614) 525-3333